News Release: "I'm an ACE Ambassador" campaign launches

Ottawa – Eight City of Ottawa-West Councillors have now joined forces in the “I’m an ACE Ambassador” community fundraising campaign for their local hospital –Queensway Carleton Hospital (QCH)

Councillors Chiarelli, Harder, El-Chantiry, Qadri, Egli, Wilkinson, Taylor and Hubley are asking each household in their ward to donate $30. The money, which would amount to a total $1.5 million contribution by Christmas 2015, with your support, will fulfill the remaining “community raised” component of the funds required to build a 34-bed Acute Care of the Elderly (ACE) Unit at the QCH.

The Acute Care of the Elderly (ACE) Unit is the first of its kind in the Ottawa-area and only the second in Ontario specializing in holistic geriatric care of our most fragile population. It will be an in-patient unit that will help meet an urgent and growing need in Ottawa for specialized acute geriatric care and enhance a philosophy focused on patient and family-centered care. ACE patients will usually have at least one other chronic disease in addition to their presenting condition making them more vulnerable to the hazards of hospitalization. The ACE approach has been shown to reduce and avoid these complications.

Queensway Carleton Hospital serves one of the fastest aging populations in Canada. Over 70% of their medical in-patients are over the age of 65. The province entrusted QCH with this strategic investment, second in Ontario after Toronto’s Mount Sinai Hospital, by contributing close to $9 million towards the unit. QCH Foundation still needs the remaining $3 million to fund the ACE Unit.

The Group of 8 (G8) West Councillors is posing the community a collective question: “I’m an ACE Ambassador, are you? It matters, it’s personal and we are giving residents the opportunity to become part of a really special group effort at an affordable cost.”

Details of the campaign continue to evolve and will be announced soon. But, in the meantime, residents can get in early. To donate please visit: www.ace.qchfoundation.ca<http://www.ace.qchfoundation.ca> or for more information contact your G8 City Councillor:

 

Jan Harder – Ward 3 Barrhaven – 613-580-2473 or jan.harder@ottawa.ca<mailto:jan.harder@ottawa.ca>

Rick Chiarelli – Ward 8 College – 613-580-2475 or rick.chiarelli@ottawa.ca<mailto:rick.chiarelli@ottawa.ca>

Marianne Wilkinson– Ward 4 Kanata North – 613-580-2474 or marianne.wilkinson@ottawa.ca<mailto:marianne.wilkinson@ottawa.ca>

Eli El-Chantiry – Ward 5 West Carleton-March – 613-580-2475 or eli.el-chantiry@ottawa.ca<mailto:eli.el-chantiry@ottawa.ca>

Shad Qadri – Ward 6 Stittsville – 613-580-2476 or shad.qadri@ottawa.ca<mailto:shad.qadri@ottawa.ca>

Mark Taylor – Ward 7 Bay – 613-580-2477 or mark.taylor@ottawa.ca<mailto:mark.taylor@ottawa.ca>

Keith Egli – Ward 9 Knoxdale-Merivale – 613-580-2579 or keith.egli@ottawa.ca<mailto:keith.egli@ottawa.ca>

Allan Hubley – Ward 23 Kanata South – 613-580-2752 or allan.hubley@ottawa.ca<mailto:allan.hubley@ottawa.ca> 

Michelle Groulx - Marketing Communications, Queensway Carleton Hospital Foundation - 613-721-4700 ext 1072 or mgroulx@qch.on.ca<mailto:mgroulx@qch.on.ca>
-30-


Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.