New City Council sets governance structure for 2014-2018 term

Ottawa – City Council today considered and approved recommendations related to the Council and Committee structure, policies, procedures and other governance matters associated with the 2014-2018 Term of Council.

Council’s Standing Committees and Sub-Committees will be as follows:

  •  Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee
  • Audit Committee (new)
  • Community and Protective Services Committee
  • Environment Committee
  • Finance and Economic Development Committee and two associated Sub-Committees: the Information Technology Sub-Committee and the Member Services Sub-Committee. The former Audit Sub-Committee is now a Standing Committee while the former Debenture Committee and the Governance Renewal Sub-Committee are eliminated.
  • Planning Committee and its associated Built Heritage Sub-Committee
  • Transit Commission
  • Transportation Committee

Council also approved the establishment of the following Advisory Committees:

  •  Accessibility Advisory Committee
  • Arts, Culture, Heritage and Recreation Advisory Committee
  • Environmental Stewardship Advisory Committee
  • French Language Services Advisory Committee

The former Community Services Advisory Committee is eliminated as its mandate is being accomplished through other means consistent with the City’s Public Engagement Strategy.

A Nominating Committee comprised of Mayor Jim Watson as Chair and 11 Councillors, will meet on December 9 to consider the composition of the various committees and boards and make recommendations to be considered by City Council on December 10.

Council also directed the City Treasurer to present a Budget Directions Report on December 10 with a plan for how the 2015 budget will be carried out, including a timetable.

- 30 -

For more information:

Media contact

Public inquiries:

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.